Inside the Mind of an Extroverted Male

by scotteliasmacha

Based on no statistical data, it seems to me most blogs of this similar caliber are written by female introverts. Blogging can be a great tool for exploring feelings and I imagine it’s a great tool for introverted females. That being said, I’ve heard a lot about the internal struggles of those type of individuals. I thought it would be fun to give anyone interested a peek inside the mind of an extroverted male. 

Yesterday was my second week of work at a great, faith-based workplace. One of the members of my team had been traveling my first week, so I met him for the first time yesterday. To get to know him better, I started asking about his trip. 

Side note, I enjoy this step. Meeting new people is thrilling and exciting. I tend to fall into the “everyone’s a friend, I just haven’t met some of them yet” category. Back to the story. 

He started sharing about how he visited a university I was familiar with. It then came up that his son was playing on the football team there. 

This is where I get really interested. I love football. I played football for 10 years and during that time, I played every single position on offense and defense. Naturally, this a great conversation piece for me. It’s similar to your sing-songy friend who has a song for every occasion. If I’m talking to a quarterback, I share how I wasn’t that great, but I’m tied into a school record for handing off the ball to a running back who ran it 106 yards into the endzone. Or if it’s a lineman, I share how on a particular pass play, I was able to block two guys by pushing one into the other guy and making them both trip over. 

In this particular instance, he told me his son was playing corner. So I told him the story of when I was playing corner and the wide receiver kept trying to block me. He started to become a pest, so I just kept throwing him on the ground. Eventually, he became furious and yelled to ref, “he’s holding!” I busted up laughing because if you know enough about football, you know that rule only applies to offensive players. 

So, a little bit of breakdown for you. In general, men and women communicate differently when they tell stories. Of course these are generalities, but these ones are based on research. Men consistently tell stories where they are the hero of the story. Women, more often than not, tell stories where someone else is the hero. Now, for men, this can lead to vainglory and continual, annoying bragging. But on the other hand, it provides an opportunity for men to share their stories of heroics. This is a bonding experience for men. It doesn’t have to be about one-upmanship, it’s just a way to show you have similar interests. 

I hope you found this helpful and I’d love to hear how you relate or differ from the way I think!